Many Happy Returns

So friday was the birthday of someone very special. A very intriguing and captivating person. One so voluble and so articulate (with pen, of course). Not to mention handsome. 😀
In case you don’t know whom I refer to, yet, it was IbadanKopa’s birthday. (How could you not even know? What planet are you from?)
On Friday, I woke very early and I actually went out to watch the sun rise, for the first time, in Ibadan. (It was MY day, afterall.) All was going well. So far, there was only one problem – Phone battery was dead. So I decided to branch at Stanbic IBTC (my usual charging point, so sad), on the way to school. I actually had nothing planned for the day, and just decided to ‘go with the flow’.
After the phone was satisfactorily charged, I continued to Ikolaba. On the way, I switched on my phone and was met with a barrage of notifications. Curiously, there was no credit alert. (How very curious, indeed.) For obvious reasons, I decided to keep a low profile at Ikolaba High.
Rather unfortunately, a corper who had ‘diarrhoea of the mouth’ let it loose that it was my birthday. The wind wasted no time in carrying this wonderful news, and in no time, many students had come to ‘felicitate’ with me. So much for my low profile.
All sorts of request started trooping in. From normal ones like, “Uncle, you will buy food for us o!”(Notice that it is ‘you will’, not ‘will you’.) to not-so-normal ones like, “Uncle, buy epa for us”. Others said, “Uncle, it’s coke me I want drink”. Still, some requested the unrequestable. “Ah, uncle, today is your ‘buyday’? Ah, you will Shaye for us O! A ma shayo l’eni”. SS1 Students! (No be me go buy ‘shayo’ for you, go and tell your father to buy shayo for you.) After a while, my wallet got very lean indeed, and I started wondering if I was a birthday boy or Santa Claus. Didn’t celebrants actually GET stuff on their birthdays?
A student asked me to buy “KFC” for her. (Whether she wanted the whole restaurant, I don’t still understand). Of course, I didn’t buy “KFC” for her, but I decided then, to visit the KFC restaurant and see how the place looked. So, after school, I went with peeps to ‘KFC’. The chicken was really nice actually, but the place was quite small, with only about 6-8 tables and people kept intruding in others’ spaces.
We finished our business at KFC, Bodija, and without thinking, I decided to visit UI (well, the UI Zoo actually). I heard the place was quite close, plus I’ve always wanted to see UI for my self and see what Her students are so proud of. On getting to UI, I was a tad disappointed. Having heard so much about it, it failed to impress.
Yes, it was big, and yes, it’s the first University, and yes, they tried beautifying it. Still, the beautification did nothing to ameliorate the antiquated look of buildings and the university environment, in general. (I mean, what’s the point of still keeping a gigantic clock on your senate building if it’s missing the minute hand and doesn’t work any longer?) And I probably shouldn’t forget to add the way the UI students kept staring at us,like we came from another planet (I can’t blame them though. Swag is probably illegal in their school, anyway).Don’t mind me jare. Maybe I was just hallucinating. (Or was I?)
So we got to UI Zoo, and yeah, it was Ok. We saw a lion, a giraffe, lots of weird-looking birds, snakes, and an Eland (I had previously never seen an Eland before. It’s like a wild version of a cow with spikes on it’s back). We saw Chimpanzees, Baboons, monkeys and other sick-looking primates. Normal zoo stuff.
Finally, I went to Shoprite Dugbe, where I bought almost nothing after walking about, then I saw a movie.
In all allawee took a serious hit to the lungs. How did my day go? Yeah, it was ok. Could have been better though.
Thanks for visiting!!!
😀

2 thoughts on “Many Happy Returns

  1. Now..would have givn 3 hearty (happy birthday) cheers….but u don tasi my sch finish..(Going 2 unilag 2 scout on my revenge points)
    HBD all d same bro..nice piece

Leave a comment