Night out

Today, After church, I got home and stayed indoors for most of the day.
I had the chance of seeing a nikkah procession (muslim marriage) as the bride and groom walked along the street to their car. Heard from the grapevine (Aunty) that the bride just finished from Bishop Philips Academy.

Later, after getting thoroughly bored, I decided to borrow a novel from Uncle John. He couldn’t find any in his stack, but decided to give me a play instead. Our Husband Has Gone Mad Again, by Ola Rotimi. (I’ve always wanted to read that play). It was a very interesting read with wonderful use of pidgin and vernacular parlance throughout the play. I particularly love the way it ended with Liza consolingly embracing Lejoka-Brown (after all her shakara), and Sikira taking up her former husband’s position. A perfect ending. 🙂

Around 7:30, I decided to visit the night market in my area for the first time. I was stunned when I got there. It was shocking because on a Sunday night, it was more crowded than computer village in Lagos would normally be on a monday morning. Everyone seemed to be in a hurry. Even those selling stuff.
I struck up a converstion in hausa with a suya seller (yeah, I know hausa :D) and the guy started blushing. Things turned sour when the suya he cut for me turned out to be two hundred naira instead of one hundred. I guess I need to update the version of my hausa.
I ended up wandering about the market looking at all the kerosene lamps and LED lights and stuff. In the end, I bought lots of bananas, fried fish, roasted corn and suya. Guess I tended toward tastebud titillation.
On my way back from the night market, where I was walking Jeje, I witnessed two okadas collide. They were facing themselves. (only in Ibadan mehn :D). In fairness though, it was dark and the roads were bad. It was just two funny. Trust them na, a brawl started sharp sharp, with each party claiming the other one was blind. (But seriously, how two okadas facing themselves collide? With all that space on the road?) It was too funny o. I had to leave sharp sharp sha because it was late and I couldn’t watch the drama unfold.

I’m sorry, there’re no pics. I didn’t take my phone because I wasn’t sure what the market was like (if you know what I mean).

Thanks for visiting!

Leave a comment